Child Abuse Prevention Committee

Our Abuse Prevention Programs share vital information about the four types of child abuse (physical abuse, sexual abuse, emotional abuse and neglect) in an age-appropriate context.  Children learn to distinguish between abuse and discipline, and what they can do if someone is hurting them.

This curriculum is an educational tool designed to:

  • Explain and define the types of child abuse
  • Provide information about agencies who offer services for children and families in need of help
  • Teach children how to identify helping adults that can keep them safe
  • Assist teachers, parents and caregivers with knowledge and skills to discuss and monitor the presence of child abuse on an ongoing basis
  • Encourage alternatives to violent behaviour
  • Encourage children to talk an adult if they think they may be in an abusive situation
  • Reinforce the notion that child abuse is NEVER the child’s fault

For more information, go to

Kids on the Block logo